Contemporary · general fiction · M/F Romance · Nature · new adult · suspense · young adult

REVIEW: Above All Else

The Official Description: official description Just the facts: Young adult, coming of age, new adult, friends to love, climbing My thoughts bit: Rose and Tate have been friends their entire lives. Climbing is part of what they do together. Now, they are heading out to the biggest challenge that they can face: climbing Mount Everest. Each… Continue reading REVIEW: Above All Else

Books

REVIEW: Box Hill, A Story of Low Self-Esteem by Adam Mars-Jones

The Official Description: The winner of the 2019 Fitzcarraldo Editions Novel Prize A sizzling and deeply touching love story between two men, set in the gay biker community of 1970s London In a vivid coming-of-age novel, a young man suddenly wakes up to his gay self—on his eighteenth birthday, when he receives the best gift… Continue reading REVIEW: Box Hill, A Story of Low Self-Esteem by Adam Mars-Jones

Books

REVIEW: Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

The Official Description: In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It’s everything he’s ever wanted–but what if he deserves better? Darius Kellner is having a bit of a year. Since his trip to Iran this past… Continue reading REVIEW: Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · mental health · own voices author · young adult

REVIEW: Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

The Official Description: Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.… Continue reading REVIEW: Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · mental health · new adult · sci-fi / fantasy · young adult

REVIEW: Boys of Alabama by Genevieve Hudson

The Official Description:  A coming-of-age novel told with magical realism, Boys of Alabama guides us through sixteen-year-old Max’s first year in America. In this bewitching first novel, a sensitive teen, newly arrived in Alabama, falls in love, questions his faith, and navigates a strange power. While his German parents don’t know what to make of… Continue reading REVIEW: Boys of Alabama by Genevieve Hudson

Contemporary · mental health · young adult

REVIEW: Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me by Gae Polisner

The Official Description: Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival nights and hot summer days spent giggling with her forever best friend Aubrey about their families and boys. Together, they were unstoppable. But they aren't the friends they once were. With JL's father gone on long term business, and her mother suffering from… Continue reading REVIEW: Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me by Gae Polisner

Contemporary · diverse characters · general fiction · lgbtqia content · mental health · substance abuse

REVIEW: On Chocorua by Robin Reardon

The Official Description: A mountain. A blizzard. A young man new to hiking and to love, making mistakes in both. First year of college. A great time to re-invent yourself. Nathan Bartlett takes the opportunity very seriously—maybe a little too seriously. And he makes mistakes. His mistakes? Falling for a straight guy who reminds him of… Continue reading REVIEW: On Chocorua by Robin Reardon