Books

REVIEW: Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

The Official Description: In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It’s everything he’s ever wanted–but what if he deserves better? Darius Kellner is having a bit of a year. Since his trip to Iran this past… Continue reading REVIEW: Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Contemporary · lgbtqia content · own voices author · Paranormal · part of series · sci-fi / fantasy · young adult

Release Blitz, Excerpt, Review and Giveaway! The Midnight Gardener by R.G. Thomas

Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway: The Midnight Gardener by R.G. Thomas   The Town of Superstition, Book 1 Thaddeus Cane and his father have moved thirty-two times in all of Thaddeus' fifteen years. Every time his father uproots them without a reason, it leaves Thaddeus friendless once again. Superstition is the town they’ve settled in… Continue reading Release Blitz, Excerpt, Review and Giveaway! The Midnight Gardener by R.G. Thomas

Contemporary · lgbtqia content · mental health · new adult · romance · young adult

REVIEW: Bookstores, Crushes & Mortal Enemies by Katie Kaleski

The Official Description: Jackson Hillside just had a meet-cute made for the movies. It could have been truly epic except the other guy, Auggie, spilled coffee all over Jackson’s favorite shoes. Determined to break his streak of bad luck with dating, Jackson goes to a party where he bumps into Auggie again. Turns out, Auggie’s… Continue reading REVIEW: Bookstores, Crushes & Mortal Enemies by Katie Kaleski

coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · mental health · own voices author · young adult

REVIEW: Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

The Official Description: Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.… Continue reading REVIEW: Stay Gold by Tobly McSmith

5 stars · Contemporary · lgbtqia content · own voices author · Paranormal · suspense · young adult

REVIEW: Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

The Official Description: Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him. When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to… Continue reading REVIEW: Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas

lgbtqia content · sci-fi / fantasy · young adult

REVIEW: The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopulos

The Official Description: A magic-infused YA novel about friendship, first love, and feeling out of place that will bewitch fans of Rainbow Rowell and Maggie Stiefvater. Living in a small town where magic is frowned upon, Sam needs his friends James and Delia—and their time together in their school's magic club—to see him through to… Continue reading REVIEW: The Fascinators by Andrew Eliopulos

5 stars · Books · Comedy · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · own voices author · sci-fi / fantasy · young adult

REVIEW: The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune

The Official Description: Some people are extraordinary. Some are just extra. TJ Klune's YA debut, The Extraordinaries, is a queer coming-of-age story about a fanboy with ADHD and the heroes he loves. Nick Bell? Not extraordinary. But being the most popular fanfiction writer in the Extraordinaries fandom is a superpower, right? After a chance encounter… Continue reading REVIEW: The Extraordinaries by T.J. Klune

coming out · lgbtqia content · young adult

REVIEW: The Mixtape To My Life by Jake Martinez

The Official Description: Justin Ortega might as well be starring in his very own coming-of-age 80s movie. If only he could find his dream boy to pull up in front of his house in a red convertible and sweep him off his feet, already! At seventeen years young, he isn’t quite Mexican enough for his South… Continue reading REVIEW: The Mixtape To My Life by Jake Martinez

5 stars · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · mental health · my faves · own voices author · young adult

REVIEW: Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

The Official Description: From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time. Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and… Continue reading REVIEW: Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

M/F Romance · romance · young adult

REVIEW: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

The Official Description: A fresh, irresistible rom-com from debut author Emma Lord about the chances we take, the paths life can lead us on, and how love can be found in the opposite place you expected.   Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around perfectionist. Her family may be falling apart, but their massive… Continue reading REVIEW: Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

suspense · young adult

REVIEW: Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson

The Official Description: In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, a devastating but hopeful YA debut about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future. There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey I thought I would be safe after my… Continue reading REVIEW: Sparrow by Mary Cecilia Jackson

lgbtqia content · romance · young adult

REVIEW: Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales

The Official Description: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets Clueless, inspired by Grease. When Ollie meets his dream guy, Will, over summer break, he thinks he’s found his Happily Ever After. But once summer’s ended, Will stops texting him back, and Ollie finds himself one prince short of a fairytale ending. To complicate the fairytale… Continue reading REVIEW: Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales