5 stars · Books · coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · gender identity · grief · lgbtqia content · MM romance · read the trigger warnings · Releases and Cover Reveals · sexually explicit · young adult

REVIEW: Dead Sea by Mia Kerick

The Official Description:   Kyle is a swaggering bully; Lenny strives to be invisible. Kyle has been left alone in the world; Lenny is the world’s biggest loner. When Kyle saves Lenny from drowning, their lives will never be the same. After a brutal encounter with school bullies, Lenny swims out into the ocean, determined… Continue reading REVIEW: Dead Sea by Mia Kerick

Books · coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · gender identity · lgbtqia content · mental health · new adult · own voices author · read the trigger warnings

REVIEW: Can’t Take That Away by Steven Salvatore

The Official Description: An empowering and emotional debut about a genderqueer teen who finds the courage to stand up and speak out for equality when they are discriminated against by their high school administration. Carey Parker dreams of being a diva, and bringing the house down with song. They can hit every note of all… Continue reading REVIEW: Can’t Take That Away by Steven Salvatore

Books · lgbtqia content · new adult · part of series · sci-fi / fantasy · suspense · young adult

REVIEW: Bonds of Brass by Emily Skrutskie

The Official Description: A young pilot risks everything to save his best friend--the man he trusts most and might even love--only to learn that he's secretly the heir to a brutal galactic empire. Ettian Nassun's life was shattered when the merciless Umber Empire invaded. He's spent seven years putting himself back together under its rule,… Continue reading REVIEW: Bonds of Brass by Emily Skrutskie

Books · Contemporary · diverse characters · Excerpt · giveaway · MM romance · own voices author · Paranormal · part of series · Releases and Cover Reveals · Releases and Cover Reveals · sci-fi / fantasy · sexually explicit

Release Blitz, Excerpt, Review and Giveaway: The Gentle Wolf

Release Blitz, Excerpt & Giveaway: The Gentle Wolf by Pia Foxhall Perth Shifters, Book 2 Omega Aodhan Donne has buried his past, his life revolves around his chocolaterie, Little Star, a place where he creates sweet and happy memories. Demisexual, and used to being shoved in the friends category by the time he falls for… Continue reading Release Blitz, Excerpt, Review and Giveaway: The Gentle Wolf

5 stars · Contemporary · lgbtqia content · my faves · own voices author · Paranormal · sci-fi / fantasy · sexually explicit

REVIEW: Brothersong by T.J. Klune is the ending I wanted to the Green Creek series

The Official Description: In the ruins of Caswell, Maine, Carter Bennett learned the truth of what had been right in front of him the entire time. And then it—he—was gone. Desperate for answers, Carter takes to the road, leaving family and the safety of his pack behind, all in the name of a man he… Continue reading REVIEW: Brothersong by T.J. Klune is the ending I wanted to the Green Creek series

Contemporary · grief · lgbtqia content · own voices author · sexually explicit

REVIEW: Bashed by Rick R. Reed

The Official Description: Three haters. Two lovers. And a collision course with tragedy. It should have been a perfect night out. Instead, Mark and Donald collide with tragedy when they leave their favorite night spot. That dark October night, three gay-bashers emerge from the gloom, armed with slurs, fists, and an aluminum baseball bat. The… Continue reading REVIEW: Bashed by Rick R. Reed

About The Reviews · Behind The Scenes

Reviewing In 2020

I just wanted to touch base with people. Normally, you wouldn’t hear much from me other than book reviews and recommendations... the occasional promotional post. 2020 so far kind of defies description. It’s been horrifying in many ways, frightening, overwhelming, and challenging. I have continued to review and post for a few reasons and I… Continue reading Reviewing In 2020

Books · Contemporary · lgbtqia content · MM romance

REVIEW: The Family We Make by Dan Wingreen

The Official Description: Spencer Kent gave up on love a long time ago. As a twenty-eight-year-old single father with a fourteen-year-old son, Connor, he knows his appeal to the average gay man is limited, and when you factor in his low self-esteem and tendencies towards rudeness and sarcasm, it might as well be nonexistent. But… Continue reading REVIEW: The Family We Make by Dan Wingreen

5 stars · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · mental health · my faves · own voices author · young adult

REVIEW: Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

The Official Description: From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time. Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and… Continue reading REVIEW: Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · young adult

REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

The Official Description: Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary YA novel -- perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli. As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight… Continue reading REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

general fiction · lgbtqia content · my faves · satire

REVIEW: Enter The Aardvark by Jessica Anthony

The Official Description: Only one thing stands between Alexander Paine Wilson and his destiny… and it has long ears, spoon-like claws and a tubular snout. Republican congressman Alexander Paine Wilson is determined that nothing will stop him in his campaign for re-election. Not the fact that he is a bachelor, not the fact that his main… Continue reading REVIEW: Enter The Aardvark by Jessica Anthony

Dystopian · lgbtqia content · young adult

REVIEW: Wranglestone by Darren Charlton

The Official Description: Winter was the only season every Lake-Lander feared... In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there's nothing to stop them from crossing the ice. Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing… Continue reading REVIEW: Wranglestone by Darren Charlton