canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · grief · lgbtqia content · mental health · new adult · own voices author · self-discovery · young adult

REVIEW: The Camino Club by Kevin Craig

The Official Description: After getting in trouble with the law, six wayward teens are given an ultimatum: serve time in juvenile detention for their crimes, or walk the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage route across Spain over the summer holidays with a pair of court appointed counselor/guides. When it becomes clear the long walk isn't really… Continue reading REVIEW: The Camino Club by Kevin Craig

5 stars · British Columbian Content · canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · general fiction · lgbtqia content · mental health · my faves · own voices author · self-discovery

REVIEW: After Elias by Eddy Boudel Tan

The Official Description: A tragedy shatters Coen’s carefully constructed life. When the airplane piloted by Elias Santos crashes one week before their wedding day, Coen Caraway loses the man he loves and the illusion of happiness he has worked so hard to create. The only thing Elias leaves behind is a recording of his final words,… Continue reading REVIEW: After Elias by Eddy Boudel Tan

canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · gender identity · juvenile · lgbtqia content · mental health

REVIEW: Ciel by Sophie Labelle

The Official Description: Ciel is excited to start high school. A gender non-conforming trans kid, Ciel has a YouTube channel and dreams of getting a better camera to really make a mark. Ciel can always rely on their best friend, Stephie, a trans girl who also happens to be a huge nerd, but their friendship… Continue reading REVIEW: Ciel by Sophie Labelle

canadian · Children's · Contemporary · lgbtqia content

REVIEW: Mom Marries Mum by Ken Setterington and Alice Priestley

The Official Description: A brother and sister are thrilled that their mom and mum are getting married! After dancing around the living room, they are full of questions. Will Nana and Pop be there? Will they get to dress up? The answer is yes! They celebrate the wedding outdoors with family and friends. And most… Continue reading REVIEW: Mom Marries Mum by Ken Setterington and Alice Priestley

canadian · coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · mental health · MM romance · sexually explicit · substance abuse

REVIEW: To Be Alive by B. Rourke

The Official Description:  At twenty-two years old, Rhett Hawkins lives a life full of secrets and lies. Nobody knows the truth about his childhood growing up in an abusive home, the eating disorder that threatens to take his life, the obsessive thoughts about death that play like a movie in the back of his mind,… Continue reading REVIEW: To Be Alive by B. Rourke

canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · MM romance

REVIEW: Boyfriend with Benefits by Allison Temple

The Official Description: When Bailey’s new boss turns out to be his childhood bully, a.k.a. Jake the Jerk, it’s time to call in backup for the upcoming corporate retreat in Vegas. Too bad Bailey works too much to date. His best option is to ask his very straight roommate Gordo to play the part of temporary… Continue reading REVIEW: Boyfriend with Benefits by Allison Temple

Audio Books · canadian · Dystopian · sci-fi / fantasy

AUDIOBOOK: The Tiger Flu by Larissa Lai

The Official Description: In this visionary novel by Larissa Lai - her first in sixteen years--a community of pathonogenic women, sent into exile by the male-dominated Salt Water City, goes to war against disease, technology, and powerful men that threaten them with extinction. Kirilow is a doctor apprentice whose lover Peristrophe is a "starfish," a… Continue reading AUDIOBOOK: The Tiger Flu by Larissa Lai

canadian · Contemporary · MM romance

REVIEW: Honeymoon Sweet by Allison Temple

The Official Description: Doug is a cheese pizza kind of guy. A honeymoon cruise around the Caribbean is the most adventurous thing he’s ever done. Going on that honeymoon alone is unthinkable, but here he is, with a luxury suite and a broken heart. Tripp is a hopeless romantic. He’s in a sinking relationship that’s… Continue reading REVIEW: Honeymoon Sweet by Allison Temple

British Columbian Content · canadian · Nature · non-fiction

REVIEW: Spirits of the Coast: Orcas in Science, Art and History

The Official Description: Spirits of the Coast brings together the work of marine biologists, Indigenous knowledge keepers, poets, artists, and storytellers, united by their enchantment with the orca. Long feared in settler cultures as "killer whales," and respected and honored by Indigenous cultures as friends, family, or benefactors, orcas are complex social beings with culture… Continue reading REVIEW: Spirits of the Coast: Orcas in Science, Art and History

canadian · MM romance · Paranormal · suspense

REVIEW: Jump the Bull by Jenn Burke

The Official Description: Ben Beaufort, badass bison Everyone who looks at Ben and sees his six-foot-plus, muscular build assumes he’s in construction. Or the military. Or something that requires brawn over brains. In truth, he’s a mild-mannered human resources professional—or at least he was, until he got laid off. Now he’s looking for a second… Continue reading REVIEW: Jump the Bull by Jenn Burke

canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · young adult

REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

The Official Description: Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary YA novel -- perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli. As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight… Continue reading REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

canadian · Contemporary · mental health · MM romance

REVIEW: Tough Guy by Rachel Reid

The Official Description: They have nothing in common—so why does Ryan feel most like himself whenever he’s with Fabian? Pro hockey star Ryan Price may be an enforcer, but off the ice he struggles with anxiety. Recently traded to the Toronto Guardians, he’s determined to make a fresh start in the city’s dynamic LGBTQ Village. The… Continue reading REVIEW: Tough Guy by Rachel Reid