Audio Books · canadian · Dystopian · sci-fi / fantasy

AUDIOBOOK: The Tiger Flu by Larissa Lai

The Official Description: In this visionary novel by Larissa Lai - her first in sixteen years--a community of pathonogenic women, sent into exile by the male-dominated Salt Water City, goes to war against disease, technology, and powerful men that threaten them with extinction. Kirilow is a doctor apprentice whose lover Peristrophe is a "starfish," a… Continue reading AUDIOBOOK: The Tiger Flu by Larissa Lai

canadian · Contemporary · MM romance

REVIEW: Honeymoon Sweet by Allison Temple

The Official Description: Doug is a cheese pizza kind of guy. A honeymoon cruise around the Caribbean is the most adventurous thing he’s ever done. Going on that honeymoon alone is unthinkable, but here he is, with a luxury suite and a broken heart. Tripp is a hopeless romantic. He’s in a sinking relationship that’s… Continue reading REVIEW: Honeymoon Sweet by Allison Temple

British Columbian Content · canadian · Nature · non-fiction

REVIEW: Spirits of the Coast: Orcas in Science, Art and History

The Official Description: Spirits of the Coast brings together the work of marine biologists, Indigenous knowledge keepers, poets, artists, and storytellers, united by their enchantment with the orca. Long feared in settler cultures as "killer whales," and respected and honored by Indigenous cultures as friends, family, or benefactors, orcas are complex social beings with culture… Continue reading REVIEW: Spirits of the Coast: Orcas in Science, Art and History

canadian · MM romance · Paranormal · suspense

REVIEW: Jump the Bull by Jenn Burke

The Official Description: Ben Beaufort, badass bison Everyone who looks at Ben and sees his six-foot-plus, muscular build assumes he’s in construction. Or the military. Or something that requires brawn over brains. In truth, he’s a mild-mannered human resources professional—or at least he was, until he got laid off. Now he’s looking for a second… Continue reading REVIEW: Jump the Bull by Jenn Burke

canadian · Contemporary · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · young adult

REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

The Official Description: Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary YA novel -- perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli. As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight… Continue reading REVIEW: When You Get The Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

canadian · Contemporary · mental health · MM romance

REVIEW: Tough Guy by Rachel Reid

The Official Description: They have nothing in common—so why does Ryan feel most like himself whenever he’s with Fabian? Pro hockey star Ryan Price may be an enforcer, but off the ice he struggles with anxiety. Recently traded to the Toronto Guardians, he’s determined to make a fresh start in the city’s dynamic LGBTQ Village. The… Continue reading REVIEW: Tough Guy by Rachel Reid

Audio Books · canadian · diverse characters · lgbtqia content · own voices author · re-telling

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: She of the Mountains by Vivek Shraya

The Official Description: In the beginning, there is no he. There is no she. Two cells make up one cell. This is the mathematics behind creation. One plus one makes one. Life begets life. We are the period to a sentence, the effect to a cause, always belonging to someone. We are never our own. This… Continue reading AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: She of the Mountains by Vivek Shraya

Audio Books · canadian · Dystopian · sci-fi / fantasy

AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice

The Official Description: With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community loses communication. Days later, it goes dark. Cut off from the urban realm of the south, many of its people become passive and confused. They eventually descend into panic as the food supply dwindles, with few hunters left in the First Nation. While the… Continue reading AUDIOBOOK REVIEW: Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice