lgbtqia content · MM romance · sci-fi / fantasy

REVIEW: The Wolf and The Sparrow by Isabelle Adler

The Official Description: Derek never wished to inherit his title as a result of a bloody battle. With the old count dead and the truce dependent on his marriage to the rival duke’s son, Derek has no choice but to agree to the victor’s terms in order to bring peace to his homeland. When he learns of the sinister rumors surrounding his intended groom, Derek begins to have doubts—but there can be no turning back from saying I do.

After the death of his wife, Callan of Mulberny never expected to be forced into another political marriage—especially not to someone like the new Count of Camria. Seemingly soft and meek, it’s only fitting that Derek’s family crest is a flighty sparrow, worthy of nothing but contempt.

Another war with the seafaring people of the Outer Isles looms on the horizon, and the reluctant newlyweds must team together to protect those caught in the circle of violence. Derek and Callan slowly learn to let go of their prejudices, but as they find themselves enmeshed in intrigue fueled by dark secrets and revenge, their tentative bond is all that keeps their world—and their lives—from plunging into chaos.

Just the facts: M/M, gay & pansexual characters, great world-building, magic

Another great world from the mind of Isabelle Adler! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  Whenever I see a new book by Isabelle Adler, I snap it up quickly. One of the things I enjoy the most is the way her characters get right into my heart. They are wonderfully developed, flawed, and very human.

The Wolf and the Sparrow is a great story… never underestimate how important that is! There are a lot of stories in the world, but not all of them are great! Derek has just lost his father in battle and discovers that he’s to be married to the victor’s son. It’s a completely political marriage… it’s unnecessary, but Derek would do anything for his family.

I loved the way that same-sex unions were just part of life. Books like this make me feel really seen and I love it! That’s exactly the kind of world that I want to live in. So Derek heads off to meet his new husband really not knowing what’s going to happen.

Interestingly, the two men connect more than they expected to. And it’s a plot to kidnap Derek than results in them being imprisoned together. This is the time they begin to learn more about each other… the danger they are in brings them together and brings out their more hidden qualities.

I would have liked to have known more about the world that Adler has created. Callan of Mulberny has some magic in him and it doesn’t really get explained a lot in the novel. I don’t know if this world is being set up for a sequel…but that would definitely work for me. The magic skill that people possess seems to vary…but it’s not explored a great deal. I was left with the impression that Callan was far more powerful than he knew.

Overall, this was a great story and I will continue to read anything that Adler writes!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS)  depictions of violence, battle injuries, death of secondary characters, the suggestion of domestic abuse, mentions torture, death of friend and grieving.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of The Wolf and the Sparrow by Isabelle Adler from NineStar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.