MM romance · Paranormal

REVIEW: Hearts of Magic by Kay Doherty

The Official Description: A moment of quiet was all Theran was looking for. He was not looking to be nearly decimated when he stumbled across a sorcerer near the pack’s hunting grounds. He’s certainly not looking for his mate when the pack congregates at Elysium for a meeting, but that’s exactly what Theran finds when he runs into the sorcerer a second time.

Colby has been the bartender at Elysium for a year, and he’s been relatively happy. He hides his paranormal identity well, flirting for tips while using sarcasm to keep others away. When he first saw the wolf in the forest, he was stunned. Learning the wolf he’s been dreaming about is real is only compounded by learning the wolf is his mate.

With the Sorcerer’s Enclave now interested in the Chevalier Pack, Colby attempts to protect Theran by kidnapping him, which only results in a deeper involvement with the pack. Despite managing the Enclave, dealing with increasing threats from the McBane Pack, and forging new alliances, Theran and Colby are determined to find their happy ever after.

Just the facts: M/M shifter/sorcerer romance, supernatural drama

The Chevalier pack becomes stronger… and finds they’re on precarious ground – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:   This book is the third installment of the Chevalier series. The books are about a rebel pack… they are a mixed species pack with a predilection toward same/sex partnerships. Each of the pack members has been driven from their packs of origin but they were saved by Tanner. IN the first books… Tanner was discovering his strength as an Alpha. His willingness to create a pack where others only saw outcasts has given him strength far surpassing other alphas. Tanner is a wolf and his mate is a dragon shifter. Only once in history has there been such a pairing and it was disastrous for all involved.

As the pack struggles to bond with each other, they have faced the animosity of the traditional packs around them including the one led by Tanner’s father.

This book centers on the beta enforcer of the pack, Theran. While he’s on a run one day he encounters an extremely powerful sorcerer. Their meeting changes things instantly…without even knowing it, Theran has met his mate. As Theran and Colby try to understand what they are to one another…bringing a Sorcerer into the Chevalier pack is not without its challenges. The Sorcerer in question is supposed to be taking information about the pack back to the Enclave. At such a fragile time in their relationship, it’s difficult for either Theran or Colby to know where they stand.

This book wasn’t quite as good as the first two. I suppose it’s because Theran hasn’t been one of the major characters in the series until this point and Coby is a pretty new character. I definitely missed some of the dynamics of the pack that Doherty wrote so well in the first two installments. This book is much more about the mating of Theran and Colby and the plot of the entire series doesn’t advance much. The Chevalier pack is still getting a mixed reception from the other packs around them…and it’s unclear at the end of the book if they are about to have another person in their midst who isn’t being truthful about their motives!

I would definitely continue to read these books. The series is well crafted and enjoyable. The characters are fully realized and interesting although I preferred following along with the major players in the pack. I suggest that you start at the beginning of the series! You won’t be disappointed.

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) bigotry against person who is asexual, bullying, violence

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Hearts of Magic by Kay Doherty from NineStar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.