lgbtqia content · MM romance · my faves

REVIEW: For Sam, Times Infinity by Suki Fleet

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited

Length: 60,000 words approx.

The Official Description: After growing up in care, all Sam wants is to make a home for him and Tommy, his kid brother by choice. But it’s not as easy as he thought, especially when his social worker finds him a job miles away. And falling for the surprising boy at work only makes things harder.

Evra is different, his past a mystery. Being truly himself is not something he’s ever felt safe enough to be with anyone, not until Sam, the shyest boy ever, saves his life at work and Evra finds himself inexplicably trusting him. Wanting him.

Problem is, Sam is leaving, unable to stand being so far away from Tommy. And Evra can’t leave, not when he has consequences to face.

Making things work might seem complicated, but sometimes falling in love has its own consequences.

Just the facts:  M/M, beautiful prose, great characterization

This is a remarkable story of love and trust and all the things in between. – Kinzie Things

 

My thoughts bit: I had no idea what to expect when I began this book. At first, I was a little confused… unsure of what was happening. Something changed about 20 pages in and I was swept up in the beauty of Suki Fleet’s writing.

Sam is struggling now that he’s out of care. He’s working at a job that’s far from perfect and saving as much as he can so that he can set up a real home with his little-brother-of-choice, Tommy.

One day, he finally speaks to Evra. They work in different departments at the same place but have definitely noticed each other. Evra is unusual, sweet, with a mysterious past.

Neither Sam nor Evra are in great places in their lives…but they find each other. The way their friendship begins is absolutely sweet. I found the writing to be unique, lyrical… almost poetic at times. I really loved it. I got so caught up in the writing that I finished the book in one day.

There is remarkable emotional depth to the characters, they are more than just their actions, more than just the words they say. Fleet has woven two wonderful character’s histories together into an engaging story.

I wouldn’t call this a “romance”. Yes, there is a romance, but it’s much more than physical and I loved the way that Fleet wrote the strength of the connection between Sam and Evra before they were even aware of what it was!

I will definitely be looking for more from Suki Fleet!

4 strong stars from me!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) mentions past illegal immigration that resulted in multiple deaths, physical abuse, mental anguish, suicidal ideation in the past, physical aggression, violence, head injury resulting in hospitalization, abuse of authority in a care home, orphaned children in care.

About The Author  Award Winning Author. Prolific Reader (though less prolific than they’d like). Lover of angst, romance and unexpected love stories.

Suki Fleet’s first novel This is Not a Love Story won Best Gay Debut in the 2014 Rainbow Awards, and was a finalist in the 2015 Lambda Awards. Foxes won Best Gay Young Adult story in the 2016 Rainbow Awards.

You can contact Suki at sukifleet@gmail.com

If you’re interested in hearing about upcoming releases, works in progress, giveaways and freebies, please sign up to Suki’s newsletter.

Instagram | Facebook | Goodreads | Tumblr | Website | Twitter

Newsletter Signup

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

I received an ARC of For Sam, Times Infinity by Siki Fleet via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.