Contemporary · MM romance

REVIEW: Roxy’s Recovery by Kim Breyon

The Official Description:

As the newest veterinarian in the small town of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho, Vaughn Winters doesn’t have time for relationships. He is too busy healing injuries and establishing his reputation as a trustworthy vet. But when a strange man waves him down on a stormy night seeking help for his injured dog, Vaughn simply can’t refuse.

Obviously homeless and with no means to pay for Roxy’s medical care, Vaughn throws caution to the wind and strikes a deal with the hesitant stranger that would allow Roxy the time to heal and provide some much needed TLC to his property as well. As the days pass, Vaughn’s curiosity grows. Alex’s dedication to the job is as surprising as the sexy tats hidden beneath his rugged clothes. What could have pushed this kind, hardworking man to the streets, or cast such dark shadows in his otherwise bright blue eyes?

Will six weeks be enough time to earn Alex’s trust? Or will asking questions cause him to tuck tail and run as soon as Roxy is able?

Order here:

Amazon / Goodreads

Just the facts: Injured dog, man in need meets man with generous soul, vet.

A lovely story about finding friendship and support via a pug 🙂 – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  First of all! If you’ve got a soft heart like me when it comes to animals…then you need to know that a beloved pet dies in this story. Now, it’s not the pet in the title, but it’s a moving scene none-the-less…and I know that some folks can’t read things like that. It’s written respectfully and … the main character is a vet so it’s not unexpected.

Now, on to the review! I really enjoyed this story. Vaughn is out one night when he comes across a man and his injured dog. Vaughn knows he can help the dog…he’s a vet… and he’s the kind of person who believes that everyone deserves second chances. Once he realizes that Roxy the pug is going to be okay… tries to understand what is going on for Alex.

It’s clear that Alex has been through a lot. He’s clearly homeless and seems to care more about his dog than he does about himself. Vaughn is moved to continue to help Alex. He offers him a place to stay while he takes care of Roxy’s recovery from her broken leg.

The interaction between these two characters reads as natural and lovely. I really enjoyed the progression of their relationship. Breyon doesn’t give up all the details about Alex’s past quickly which makes him intriguing. It is clear early on that Alex is putting a less-than-perfect relationship behind him…he’s got walls up. While Vaughn falls quickly, Alex is on the other end of the spectrum and seems to resist becoming involved in a new relationship.

I always appreciate authors writing characters who have experienced domestic violence. It’s a terrible thing to have to go through and there are so many issues that arise because of it. The author manages to describe the challenge it can be to be supportive to someone without taking over their decisions. Vaughn is very caring… but he can be a bit overbearing when it comes to Alex. The push and pull between them seemed realistic and I enjoyed going along for the ride with them.

And the dogs were adorable! They had it all figured out from the beginning!

A strong 4-stars from me! I’m looking forward to reading more by this author!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) death of a pet, a pet dog is hit by a car and injured, descriptions of injured/sick animals at vet practice, domestic abuse (M/M), homelessness.

Author Bio: I am an Idaho native who grew up dreaming about traveling the world and writing stories. As a child, I would often spend my spare time curled up with my favorite blanket and a notebook, writing another fairy tale. I never would have guessed those fairy tales would one day grow into gay romances, but that is where my heart led me and I am so glad it did. I write about love because I believe it can happen to anyone, with anyone. I also believe dreams never expire, redemption is possible, and true forgiveness can heal us in ways we never expect. I know firsthand how messy life can get, but as any artist will tell you, a little mess is needed to create something beautiful. That’s why I write, to help others see that anything can be beautiful. You can often find me with a mug of coffee in one hand and a dog toy in the other. There is never a day that goes by without my sweet boy insisting on a game – or twenty – of fetch.

 Author links: Website / Instagram / Facebook  / Goodreads

 

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

I received an ARC of Roxy’s Recovery by Kim Breyon via A Novel Take Promotions  in exchange for an unbiased review.

a novel take

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.