Contemporary · MM romance

REVIEW: Someday, Someday by Emma Scott

The Official Description: How long would you wait for love?

Max Kaufman was kicked out of his home as a teen and his life has been an uphill battle ever since. From addiction and living on the streets, to recovery and putting himself through nursing school, he’s spent the last ten years rebuilding his shattered sense of self. Now he’s taken a job as a private caretaker to Edward Marsh III, the president and CEO of one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in the world. Max soon learns Marsh’s multi-billion-dollar empire is a gold and diamond-encrusted web of secrets and lies.

The longer Max works and lives with the Marsh family, the tighter the secrets tangle around him. And his heart—that he’s worked so hard to protect—falls straight into the hands of the distant, cold, and beautiful son of a dynasty…

Silas Marsh is set to inherit the family fortune, but his father is determined his heir be the “perfect” son. Before Silas can take over the company and end its shady business practices, he must prove himself worthy…and deny his true nature.

Silas must choose: stand up to his father by being true to himself and his undeniable feelings for Max. Or pretend to be someone he is not in order to inherit everything. Even if it means sacrificing a chance at happiness and real love.

Just the facts: M/M romance, recovery, homophobia, family discord.

This was touching, and very timely! I even enjoyed the bits that made me cry.- Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  Max and Silas meet… sort of… at an NA meeting. Max is an ER nurse and looking for a chance to rest when he takes a job working with a wealthy client. He’s shocked when he realizes that Silas is the man he met at the meeting… and is also the son of his new client. Silas has a past that is full of horrendous things: his father almost disowned him, he was addicted to opiates, he was sent to six months of gay conversion therapy. As Silas and Max get to know one another, things get complicated very quickly.

I loved the characters in this book. The novel is full length and I really appreciated that the author took the time to develop the characters to the fullest. There are some heavy issues discussed in this book… and I’m very glad that it wasn’t at all rushed. Scott took on a tough challenge with Silas because he walks a line between being frustrating and tragic. I found that I came to like him quite quickly in spite of the way he was so overwhelmed by everything from his past.

One of the secondary characters that caught my attention was Eddie. Eddie is Silas’ older brother and he’s on the Autism Spectrum. The relationship between Eddie and Silas is heart-warming and often really amusing. I love to see siblings who care for each other. Eddie brings out the best in Silas, it’s the only time when he seems to really feel as though he’s himself and not being judged.

The characters in this story have a difficult road to get to one another and it’s not always clear whether they’ll get there. But, that’s the reality of recovery and the emotional fall out from a family that doesn’t accept one’s sexual orientation. I really appreciated that Scott didn’t gloss over anything… there are no easy conversations or quick fixes for anything that goes on in this novel.

This is a great novel and I really enjoyed it.

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) mentions past substance abuse, homophobia within the family, descriptions of ongoing care for a character with MS, mentions past substance abuse, mentions past sex trade work, harassment in the workplace

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author //

I received an ARC of Someday, Someday by Emma Scott via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.