Contemporary · MM romance · romance

REVIEW: Holiday Gridlock by Gretchen Evans

The Official Description: Gabe is way too happy. Mark is as close to a perfect boyfriend as you can get. He’s smart, good-looking, successful, and he cares about Gabe. He’s also way more serious about their relationship than Gabe’s ready for. He wants them to move in together.

The closest Gabe’s ever gotten to living with a boyfriend is accidentally leaving his boxers behind. But he and Mark are way past that. It’s terrifying.

Mark invites Gabe home for the holidays where Gabe gets an intimate look at Mark’s family, his childhood, and how different their Christmas traditions are. It’s loud, overwhelming, messy, and…really nice. Homey in a way Gabe’s never experienced.

But Mark wants more than for Gabe to just have a peek at this part of his life. He wants Gabe to become part of the family, to go to bed with him every night, and wake up with him every morning. He wants all their Christmases to be together. Moving in may be just the start.

It might take a Christmas miracle for Gabe to figure himself out and overcome his fears. Or maybe a little familial intervention.

Will Gabe and Mark take the next step, or will they get stuck in holiday gridlock?

Just the facts: M/M romance, moving forward and fearing it

Gabe and Mark are happy together… but as things progress, Gabe gets cold feet. – Kinzie Things 

My thoughts bit: I was so happy to see another book in this series! Gabe and Mark were intriguing in the first book… and this one just solidified their relationship. It amazes me that the author is able to pack so much characterization into such a short piece of fiction. I really felt for Gabe… his confusion over the status and longevity of his relationship was really palpable. I’ve been there and this read as authentic.

What this story lacks in length, it more than makes up for in characterization. It’s funny but I remember caring about these two characters in the first novel… and really not a lot about them is revealed during that plot. This seemed like such a natural continuation.

I loved that it was a bit of a Christmas story… and that all levels of commitment to the holiday spirit were reflected! Great continuation!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) Miscommunication in relationship

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Gridlock by Gretchen Evans  via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.