lgbtqia content · suspense

REVIEW: Lion’s Head Revisited by Jeffrey Round

The Official Description: Private investigator Dan Sharp investigates the disappearance of a young boy in the Canadian wilderness.

When a four-year-old autistic boy disappears on a camping trip, his mother is reluctant to involve the police. Instead, she calls in private investigator Dan Sharp after a ransom demand arrives.

On investigating, Dan learns there are plenty of people who might be responsible for the kidnapping. Among them are an ex-husband who wrongly believed the boy was his son; the boy’s surrogate mother, now a drug addict; the boy’s grandmother, who has been denied access to her grandson; and a mysterious woman who unnerves everyone with her unexpected appearances.

Just the facts: Kidnapping Mystery. Private Investigator. Queer Content!

Superbly crafted mystery that will have you on the edge of your seat! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  This was a solid, well-written mystery! This book is part of a series, but I haven’t read the previous ones and I still found this very enjoyable. I’m certain there is a lot more interesting history of the characters in previous installments so I’d suggest going back to the beginning and reading if you’re interested in a great mystery series!

Dan Sharp is a private investigator and he’s called in to work on the kidnapping of a young boy. There are lots of interesting supporting characters in this novel who could be responsible for the kidnapping… there are motives all over the place. Round has woven together a great story. All the pieces of the puzzle are there for a reader to figure out what is going on! The mystery is very well-crafted… and I can’t emphasize that enough. A good mystery needs finesse, talent, and attention to detail and Round has all of those things!

Dan Sharp is an interesting character. The subplot of this book involves Dan reminiscing about his past. Dan lost his mother when he was young and his alcoholic father was distant and disconnected. It seems to have made it difficult for him to connect with his new lover: Nick. Nick is a police officer and there is a lot of push and pull between them. Dan doesn’t trust easily and that’s all that Nick is really asking for. There was just the right amount of relationship plot added to this mystery to make it even more interesting!

A very satisfying mystery with very interesting characters! 4 stars from me!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) kidnapping, family dischord, substance abuse, child abandonment, brief descriptions of death of a child, depictions of mental illness,

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Lion’s Head Revisited by Jeffrey Round from Dundurn via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.