MM romance · sci-fi / fantasy

REVIEW: Time Turns by C.B. Lewis

The Official Description: As a consultant analyst for the most technologically advanced firms in the country, Danny Ferguson knows he’s seen a lot of crazy stuff, but nothing comes close to his newest position at the Temporal Research Institute, the world’s foremost time travel organisation.

The corrupted piece of code Ferguson found on the TRI’s closed network is a serious concern for Lysander O’Donohue, the director of the TRI. Unable to trust his own people—any one of whom might be the source—he’s forced to put all his trust in Danny to solve the mystery of the corrupt code and find the identity of the enemy within.

But when an unexpected temporal gate opens, a straightforward code analysis becomes something a lot more complicated.

Just the facts: A time travel mystery, M/M romance, lots of awesome plot!

A rogueish Scottish coder ends up with more than he bargains for when he takes a job at the Temporal Research Institute… including an attraction to the boss. – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit: This book is part of the Out Of Time series by C.B. Lewis, but don’t worry if you’re not caught up, this title can be read as a stand-alone. I haven’t read the rest of the series, but I have a feeling I will be reading it now.

Let me start with the characters. I loved Danny! He’s a Scotsman through and through. He’s a coder by trade and resorts to a bit of a drink when he needs to loosen up his brain and work on a puzzle. He’s open, caring and nurturing, funny and I adored him. Early on in the book, he accepts a lucrative short-term contract to work on a very secretive project solving a coding mystery.

When Danny arrives at his posting, he meets the man in charge, Lysander O’Donahue. Lysander is another very interesting character! He is all reserved strength and confidence behind his desk but has a tendency to carry too much weight on his shoulders.

Time Turns is a mystery of sorts. Set in the future, when time travel is tightly controlled and inspires awe in most people … it seems that someone is trying to undermine the Temporal Research Institute. Someone has been altering the coding behind the Institute’s work and Danny has been assigned to work out the mystery.

The longer Danny works at the Institute, the closer he gets to Lysander. They have a lovely relationship. Lysander seems to thrive off the nurturing spirit of Danny’s soul… and at the same time craves the control that Danny surrenders to him at times. They’re a very interesting pair because of their differences and the way that they relate to one another. I liked the ease they were quick to find in each other’s presence.

There are a couple of things that stand out… in that they don’t stand out. SPOILER COMING (in a way) Let’s see, about 1/3 of the way into the story, Lysander discloses that he is a Trans man. I say … it’s a spoiler in a way… because it’s just NOT that big a deal. I freaking loved that! Trans is just something that is part of who Lysander is… and Danny doesn’t really react to it at all. It’s just… something that is. THANK YOU, C.B. Lewis! Hopefully, we won’t all have to wait until 2065 to get that kind of inclusion.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it as many times as I’m able to… Queer isn’t the point of this novel… it’s just something that some of the characters happen to be.

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) description of cardiac arrest (survived), vivid description of a panic attack, vomiting,

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Time Turns by C.B. Lewis from NineStar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.