REVIEW: Arctic Heat by by Annabeth Albert

The Official Description: A lasting connection needs more than simply surviving a winter together—they’ll have to outsmart danger, let down their defenses and open their hearts.

Owen Han has a fresh lease on life—he’s kicked cancer’s ass and is roaring through his bucket list. The former investment banker hopes to find his next challenge in Alaska, volunteering alongside park rangers and fulfilling his childhood dreams of snowy winters and rustic life. Of course, those dreams did tend to feature big strapping mountain men in vivid detail…

Ranger Quilleran Ramsey would like to be anywhere other than dealing with newbie volunteers. And really, the only thing he needs less than a green volunteer “partner” is the flirty attentions of a buff city boy who doesn’t look ready to last a week, let alone an Alaskan winter. They’re all wrong for each other, even if Quill’s traitorous body enjoys the flirting more than it should.

As the weeks pass, the two snowbound men give in to temptation. But can their seasonal romance last until spring? For them to have a future together, each will have to trust the other…while hoping that the harsh elements and omnipresent dangers don’t destroy what happiness they’ve found in the moment.

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

My thoughts bit: I had a feeling I was going to enjoy this as I loved the last book in the Frozen Hearts series. One of the things I really enjoy about this series of books is that the setting is almost like an additional character. Albert has done her research about Alaska and it shows in this book. I spent a lot of time in the north myself and it rings really true for me.

Owen Han is a man looking for adventure and fulfillment in his life. After a victory over cancer, Owen has been checking items off his bucket list and volunteering in a park in Alaska is his next challenge. It’s at Owen’s volunteer training that he meets Ranger Quilleran Ramsey. Quill is a rugged loner who is a Park Ranger doing a presentation. Owen’s immediately drawn to Quill…he’s just his type…  but after a brief encounter Quill makes it clear that he won’t cross his strict ethical boundaries for a fling with Owen.

Through a lovely twist of fate, Owen ends up volunteering at the Station run by Quill and their lives get tangled together. I really enjoyed the way these two characters struggled with their own expectations and pre-conceived ideas as they grew closer to one another. There was some lovely sexual tension from the moment they first met and it carried through into wonderfully hot sex scenes. I adored Quill! There were definitely some moments when he broke my heart… but it was well worth it!

This novel has all the ingredients for a great summer m/m romance! It’s set in the cool Alaskan wilderness, there are two hot men (one of whom wears a uniform), there’s some adventure and an epically dangerous natural event … and a happy ending!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: descriptions of homophobia, family issues, a brief description of an accident scene including dead body, descriptions of avalanche and near-death experience.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel

I received an ARC of Arctic Heat by Annabeth Albert from Harlequin: Carina press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.