Books · diverse characters · general fiction · grief · historical · lgbtqia content · self-discovery

REVIEW: As If Death Summoned by Alan E. Rose

The Official Description: As If Death Summoned explores the early days of the AIDS epidemic. In 1936, a man was caught in a blizzard on the Bogong High Plains of Australia. Found unconscious by a search party, he was taken to the nearest township where an old aborigine woman made the cryptic comment, “They brought… Continue reading REVIEW: As If Death Summoned by Alan E. Rose

coming out · Contemporary · diverse characters · HIV · lgbtqia content · mental health

REVIEW: Where We Go From Here by Lucas Rocha

The Official Description: An absorbing debut novel about three gay young adults in Brazil whose lives become intertwined in the face of HIV, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Bill Konigsberg Ian has just been diagnosed with HIV. Victor, to his great relief, has tested negative. Henrique has been living with HIV for the… Continue reading REVIEW: Where We Go From Here by Lucas Rocha

5 stars · Contemporary · general fiction · lgbtqia content · mental health

REVIEW: The Prettiest Star by Carter Sickles

The Official Description: Set in 1986, a year after Rock Hudson’s death brought the news of AIDS into living rooms and kitchens across America, Lambda Literary award-winning author Carter Sickels’s second novel shines light on an overlooked part of the epidemic, those men who returned to the rural communities and families who’d rejected them. Six short… Continue reading REVIEW: The Prettiest Star by Carter Sickles