Holiday Story · M/F Romance · MM romance

REVIEW: Irises in the Snow by Isabelle Adler

The Official Description: It’s Christmas, and Justin’s life is fraying at the edges. The family business he took over instead of going to art school is bleeding money, and his boyfriend of seven months cheated on him. Under these circumstances, family gatherings can be rough, but Justin believes he has everything under control. That is, until Elliot, his former best friend (and the first guy to ever break his heart) unexpectedly shows up at the holiday dinner party.

With both of them still nursing the wounds of the past, it might take a real Christmas miracle for Justin and Elliot to learn to appreciate the art of second chances.

Just the facts: M/M contemporary romance, novella, gay MC, artist, Christmas story

A lovely introduction to the season of holiday reading in the MM romance world! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  This novella is a lovely beginning to the season of Holiday stories. Isabelle Adler is a great writer and this story… short as it feels… is lovely. Justin’s life began to fall apart the moment his partner left for the city and the life they had planned together. Justin stayed behind because his father was ill and rather than following his dream to be an artist, he suddenly needed to run a hardware store.

Heartbreaker, Elliot is invited to family dinner by Justin’s Mom and that brings them together for the first time in years. Why? Well, Elliot kind of disappeared off the face of the earth. Even when his parents passed away Elliot didn’t answer Justin’s messages… no matter how he reached out… Elliot didn’t respond. So, Justine tried his best to put it behind him and move on.

When the two men find themselves thrown back together once more… the unsaid and undone things between them rise up again. First love is a difficult one to get past… especially when your feelings haven’t changed.

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) Description of recovery from cancer, discusses cheating and ramifications, death of parents

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Irises In The Snow by Isabelle Adler from NineStar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.