lgbtqia content · Paranormal

REVIEW: Graveyard Shift by Jenn Burke

The Official Description: Shifting Into High Fear

Ghost/god Wes Cooper and his not-life partner, vampire Hudson Rojas, have settled into cohabitation in an upscale part of Toronto. So what if their hoity-toity new neighbors haven’t exactly rolled out the welcome mat for the paranormal pair? Their PI business is booming, and when a suspect they’ve been tailing winds up in the morgue, it’s alongside a rash of other shifters in apparent drug-related fatalities.

Now Wes and Hudson must connect the dots between the shifter deaths and an uptick in brutal vampire attacks across the city. Throw in a surprise visit from Hudson’s niece—who may or may not be on the run from European paranormal police (who may or may not exist)—and guardianship of a teen shifter who might be the key to solving the whole mystery (if only she could recover her memory), and Wes and Hudson have never been busier…or happier.

But when a nightmare from Hudson’s past comes back to haunt him, their weird, little found family is pushed to the brink. Mucking this up would mean Hudson and Wes missing their second chance at happily-forever-afterlife…

This book is approximately 74,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise : all the romance you’re looking for with an HEA/HFN. It’s a promise!

Just the facts: M/M, Supernatural, action, HEA

My favourite Scooby gang is back! A surprisingly emotional, action packed story! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  I LOVED this book! First of all, if you haven’t read Burke’s other books in this series… please do! You won’t be disappointed. This is book three of the Not Dead Yet series. SPOILERS FROM NOW ON!

At the center of the series is newly annoint3ed God, Wes. He has absorbed a huge amount of magic and is becoming accustomed to the way it feels. He’s still sorting out “what” he’s a God of… how his powers affect his place in the world. And there are a lot of things he definitely doesn’t know… can he be killed? What happens if he lets go?

Wes’ partner at work and in life is Hudson. Hudson is a fantastic character. As open and expressive as Wes is… Hudson is a man of few words. Burke does a fantastic job of creating characters that are magnetic and fascinating. The dynamic between Wes and Hudson is so intriguing. They are dedicated to one another but both of them have been through extensive changes since they met for the very first time. It’s not just about Hudson becoming a vampire and Wes becoming… dead. It’s so much more than that. These two characters have grown and changed throughout this series and I have loved every minute of it. These two are devoted to one another… and don’t sway from that even when things get challenging. I love that about them.

I was surprised at how emotional I got while reading this story. One of the supporting characters is killed in an epic battle, and it was the reaction of the other characters that got to me. Evan… the newest vampire who lives with chronic depression is such an amazing character. The way he experiences the loss of his friend is heart-breaking.

There’s a lot going on in this novel… and I loved all of it. There’s a mystery, there is a lot of action, there are really nasty bad guys… and it’s not always clear who IS a bad guy. There are also a lot of fantastic relationships and friendships and I would love to read more about these characters!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) violence, death of supporting character, death (and rebirth) of major character, descriptions of severe gun shot wounds, kidnapping, confinement, waking up in morgue, head injuries resulting in confusion and disorientation, PTSD like symptoms, Severe chronic depression.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Graveyard Shift by Jenn Burke from Carina Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.