MM romance

REVIEW: Loving Daniel by Ruby Moone

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link

Length: 69,500 words.

Cover Design: Meredith Russell

MC Securities Series 

Book #1 – Trusting Jack – Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link  ||

Book #2 – Finding Finlay – Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link

 

Blurb

*Can be read as a standalone.

Twelve years ago, Daniel McCafferty walked away from the man he loved without a backward glance. He threw himself into his father’s business as heir apparent of their vicious criminal empire in Manchester. Forced to deny who he was, who he loved, he buried himself in work and drink.

Christian’s life is steady. He has a good business, good friends, but he’s never had a lasting relationship. Second cousin to Daniel, they fell hard for each other one hot summer long ago. When Christian needed him the most, Daniel walked away. It broke something inside him. Over the last year, Christian asked Daniel for help with a lowlife named Bryce. Daniel gave it. Unstintingly.

When Daniel’s father dies unexpectedly, Christian stands by him. Offers him comfort. But when Bryce rears his ugly head again, and Christian is in grave danger, Daniel whisks him away to Europe. Away from normality, Daniel and Christian are thrown together in the heat of the Mediterranean sun. Daniel’s walls tumble, and for the first time he thinks that just maybe, it can work. All he has to do is keep secret the real reason he left Christian.

This is angsty and frustrating in the best possible way! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit: Wow! Okay so – this book is part of Ruby Moone’s MC Securities Series. I haven’t read the first two books in this series, but I will now! Daniel and Christian have a past. Twelve years before the time of this story… the two young men fell in love. It was a whirlwind… they were second cousins… Daniel wasn’t out and his father’s business interests definitely fell on the wrong side of the law. When Christian’s father died suddenly, Daniel was there for a few days… then withdrew completely from Christian’s life.

And now… twelve years later is where Loving Daniel picks up. This time, Daniel’s father has died. Daniel isn’t sorry his father is gone but he’s still at loose ends… he’s lost because he lost a father that was a horrible man and a criminal….but the man was still his father. Christian appears… offering himself as a way to “be there” for Daniel. This is the first point at which the reader has a clue to how convoluted and buried Daniel’s emotions are.

Things get worse. Because his father is gone… there’s a power struggle in the world of crime Daniel’s father inhabited. Christian is a direct route to Daniel because people know that in his past…he’s gone to Christian’s aid. This connection results in Christian nearly being killed. When he wakes up… Daniel is there… holding his hand and pretending to be his husband.

Things continue to get more and more confusing for Christian. He moves in with Daniel for protection… but sense there’s something going on with Daniel. He feels, sometimes, as though they are drawn together but other times Daniel is firmly planted behind a wall. I absolutely loved the push and pull between Daniel and Christian. It was frustrating and heart-wrenching in all the best possible ways. Moon is slow to reveal the past that is keeping Daniel away from Christian so the frustration is real!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The switching perspective between the main characters was well-crafted and the voices were distinct! Sure, there is a lot of frustrating moments, but they read as real to me. I was invested in this relationship from the moment I realized how messed up it was because of something mysterious that happened in the past!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) mentions stabbing, physical assault, near death, dysfunctional family dynamics, mentions substance abusive in past.

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

I received an ARC of Loving Daniel by Ruby Moone via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

My name is Ruby Moone and I love books. All kinds of books. My weakness is for romance, and that can be any kind, but I am particularly fond of historical and paranormal. I decided to write gay romance after reading some fantastic books and falling in love with the genre, so am really thrilled to have my work published here. The day job takes up a lot of my time, but every other spare moment finds me writing or reading. I live in the north west of England with my husband who thinks that I live in two worlds. The real world and in the world in my head…he probably has a point!

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/RubyMoone/?ref=bookmarks
Twitter – @RubyMooneWriter
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/rubymoone/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.