FF romance · MM romance · my faves

REVIEW: Love On The Hudson by K.D. Fisher

 

The Official Description:

Art historian David Webster left his childhood home of Saugerties, New York ten years ago and hasn’t looked back. Intelligent, successful, and proud of his sexuality, David has built a comfortable, if lonely, life in Chicago. But when he learns his father has suffered a debilitating stroke, he decides t

o leave his prestigious museum job and move home to care for his dad. Until now David has never questioned his devotion to academic and professional success. Suddenly he’s forced to confront and reevaluate his desires, chief among them, his former best friend Nick.

Nick Patras has spent his entire life trying to be the perfect Greek son. From devoting himself to football, to forgoing an athletic scholarship to work at his family’s diner, to denying his sexuality and getting married to his high school sweetheart, Nick got used to putting his family’s dreams ahead of his own. The facade shattered, however, when Nick divorced his wife and left the family business to follow his dream of starting an organic farm. Finally content with the life he’s built for himself, Nick is still haunted by the mistake that ended his friendship with David a decade earlier.

When David and Nick reunite their old feelings are undeniable, but can David trust Nick with his heart a second time around? As David embarks on a new career as an artist, he must decide whether or not Nick fits into this composition.

Order here:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Love-Hudson-KD-Fisherebook/dp/B07Y8QKRF1/ref=sr_1_3keywords=kd+fisher&qid=1569490513&s=books&sr=1-3

Ninestar:  https://ninestarpress.com/product/love-on-the-hudson/

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/47508320-love-on-the-hudson

Just the facts: M/M, best friends to lovers, changing up life & coming out!

One of those books I couldn’t put down! I teared up, laughed and cheered David and Nick on! – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  This is one of those books that is a complete joy to read. The M/M romance genre is full of different styles and K.D. Fisher is a great author! This book encompasses what I love about the genre: it’s fun, engaging and has a fair amount of angst. Nothing is certain in life… and the characters in this book come face to face with that repeatedly.

When David finds out that his father has suffered a stroke, he quits his job and moves home to take care of him. He’s worked hard his entire life for his job at the museum but doesn’t hesitate to return home because his father needs him. I loved the way Fisher captured the closeness between David and his father. It wasn’t written overtly, it was very subtle and warmed my heart.

Nick’s life has been very different. Although he’d been attracted to David when they were younger… his Greek father has no time of space in his life for anyone who is “gay”. Nick broke his best friend’s heart when he pushed him away after their relationship became physical. It’s a very stunning portrayal of someone trying to be “straight” to live up to his family’s wishes.

When David returns home… of course he runs into Nick again. Things have changed for both of them. I loved that their lives hadn’t simply halted after their friendship ended. Although they continued to care for one another in their own ways, their lives had moved forward. The coming-back-together wasn’t easy for either of them.

There are a few lovely themes running through this novel. There’s definitely a focus on found-family. The queer community quickly learns to find a family where it is… and this book is a perfect example of how a family can just creep up on someone. Nick has changed his entire life and has begun to surround himself with people who accept him for who he is without even really being aware that he’s doing it.

I really appreciated the way Nick struggled with his thoughts about being gay. He was raised in a homophobic household and his few experiences with the “queer community” were really limited and some were harmful. I may not be able to put this in the right words … so bear with me. As a character, it was wonderful to see Nick struggle with his preconceived ideas about “masculinity” and “queerness”. Some of his instincts are clouded by the way he was raised… the hesitancy to be “open” that was beat into him as he grew up in a family that didn’t accept his sexuality.

The two main characters still have feelings for each other when they come together…but that doesn’t mean things go smoothly. I thought that Fisher handled the beginnings of a tentative reunification with great skill. You can care so much about someone that even the most straight forward moments can be convoluted and misread. I thought David’s and Nick’s relationship was the right amount of roller coaster considering the time that had passed since they were friends… and the amount of hurt that had appeared in both of their lives.

Bonus! there is another wonderful queer f/f couple in this book… hopefully, we’ll get to read about them one day? I can wish, right? 🙂

A strong 4-stars from me! I’m looking forward to reading more by this author!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) homophobia and hate speech, family discord, mentions stroke and the aftermath, bigotry.

Author Bio:

KD Fisher is a queer New England-based writer of authentic, heartfelt LGBTQ+ narratives. KD grew up all over the United States, bouncing from North Carolina to Hawaiʻi to Illinois, and finally settling in Maine where she spends far too much time at the beach.

When KD isn’t writing, she can usually be found hiking with her overly enthusiastic dog, obsessing over plants, or cooking elaborate meals. She loves classic country, perfectly ripe tomatoes, and falling asleep in the sun.

 Author links: Website / Instagram / Twitter / Newsletter / Facebook  / Goodreads

 

Win one of 3 packages of a signed physical copy + postcard of LOVE ON THE HUDSON by KD Fisher!

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Love On The Hudson by K.D. Fisher from NineStar Press via A Novel Take Promotions  in exchange for an unbiased review.

a novel take

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.