lgbtqia content · Paranormal · romance

REVIEW: Bite – A Vampire Anthology

The Official Description: Vampires old and new, strong and sensual, with desires both predatory and protective. Their attraction is fierce and fascinating, and their love is eternal. We believe they deserve a very special kind of man—and their own happily ever after.

Four best-selling authors bring you their own take on the vampire lover’s story.

In Out of Time by Clare London, the ancient vampire Ambrus tries to protect Edward, a newly-turned young man, hoping to bring him comfort, acceptance of his fate, and eventually love.

In Christmas for a Vampire by Ruby Moone, grief-stricken vampire, Ellis Davenport, faces a miserable, lonely life when it seems the love of his life prefers death to eternity with him.

In A Tale Told in Darkness by Sue Brown, Lee comforts his lover with the tale of Brook, a vampire who falls for his neighbour Michael. When the young man is pursued by someone far more dangerous, only Brook can save him.

In Lamb to the Slaughter by Joanna Chambers, there is very little Lucien St. Villiers enjoys more than hunting for beautiful young men who are eager to learn all that Lucien has to teach them.

Please note: these stories may also be individually available for purchase at various times. This collection is a special event for 2019.

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited

Clare London – Website | Twitter | Bookbub | Facebook

Ruby Moone – Website | Twitter | BookBub | Facebook

Sue Brown – Website | Twitter | BookBub | Facebook

Joanna Chambers – Website | Twitter | BookBub | Facebook

Just the facts:  M/M, vampires, short stories, lyrical & original

A marvelous collection of unique and sensual vampire tales. – Kinzie Things

 

My thoughts bit: One story lays out the push and pull between two vampires over a century. When they meet, one is newly turned…the other experienced and wise. They discover the true meaning of “love” together.

A vampire dreams of a lover he lost to death twenty years previous, it’s so realistic, his heart is wounded again when he awakens to find himself alone. But is he alone? He has friends and a sire, but he can’t stop dreaming and sensing the man he still loves.

There is a story hidden within a story. Cal asks his lover, Lee to tell him a vampire story. The story is beautiful, eerie and startling… and more poignant than you know when you begin reading. My personal favorite story… this one made me tear up.

This collection also contains a story in which no one is who they seem. If you are older and more experienced … how do you know that someone young will stay with you for the rest of your life?

This is a very enjoyable, skillfully written set of original vampire stories. Clearly, each of the authors involved in this anthology has put a lot of love and care into their story. The plots were all things I hadn’t encountered before and I was excited about that! I absolutely would recommend this to anyone who enjoys vampire fiction.

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) descriptions of torture, mentions rape/sexual assault, confinement, kidnapping and death.

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

I received an ARC of Bite via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.