REVIEW: Mainly by Moonlight by Josh Lanyon

The Official Description: Cosmo Saville guiltily hides a paranormal secret from his soon-to-be husband. Thanks to a powerful love spell, uncertainty threatens his nuptial magic. But when he’s arrested for allegedly killing a longtime rival, he could spend his honeymoon behind bars…

Police Commissioner John Joseph Galbraith never believed in love until Cosmo came along. Falling head over heels for the elegant antiques dealer is an enchantment he never wants to break. So when all fingers point to Cosmo’s guilt, John races to prove his fiancé’s innocence before they take their vows.

As Cosmo hunts for the real killer among the arcane aristocracy, John warns him to leave it to the police. But with an unseen enemy threatening to expose Cosmo’s true nature, the couple’s blissful future could shatter like a broken charm.

Can Cosmo find the lost grimoire, clear his name, and keep John’s love alive, or will black magic “rune” their wedding bells?

Mainly by Moonlight is the first book in the sexy Bedknobs and Broomsticks romantic gay mystery series. If you like spellbinding suspense, steamy fun, and a dash of paranormal, then you’ll love Josh Lanyon’s charming tale.

Just the facts: M/M Romance, gay main character, mystery, love spell, supernatural romance

My thoughts bit: This was an enjoyable M/M supernatural romance with a murder mystery woven in. Things are going swimmingly for Cosmo at the beginning of this first book in a trilogy. He’s met the love of his life, he’s engaged to be married in three short weeks and a colleague has contacted him to potentially sell a magical grimoire he’s been searching for.

Of course, that’s not how things continue! When Cosmo arrives at the antique shop… he finds a dead body. Before he even has time to recover from his shock, the police are there. Now, things get complicated because Cosmo is engaged to … Police Commissioner John Joseph Galbraith. I’m sure you can see how this going from a whirlwind love story to something much more complicated.

There’s something else going on too! One of Cosmo’s well-meaning friends cast a love spell oh John… and now he doesn’t know what’s going to happen. If someone has been spelled to fall in love with you, it’s no longer so easy to accept it and move forward.

I loved the characterizations of Cosmo and John. The two men are quite different from one another and Lanyon does a fantastic job of creating two separate voices. The push and pull of their relationship is tangible. It’s clear that there is more going on in their lives than they are revealing to one another. I feel certain that some more secrets will be revealed as the story continues!

My only complaint is that the end of this book sneaked up on me! I wasn’t ready for it to be finished but I’m certainly glad there are another two parts to come! Sign me up!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: mention “satanic” practices, love spell means dubious consent initially (no sex), description of a dead body.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel

I received an ARC of Mainly by Moonlight by Josh Lanyon from JustJoshin Publishing, Inc. / Vellichor Books via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.