MM romance · sci-fi / fantasy

REVIEW: The Midspring Rebellion by Doreen Heron

The Official Description: Things are amiss in the fairy court, made worse one spring morning when King Oberon’s wife decides to leave him. His decision to gather his thoughts in the human realm lead him into the path, and arms, of workaholic human Nick Chandler. But when Oberon’s throne is threatened, will he be able to retain his kingship and his newfound love?

Just the facts: M/M romance, mythical characters retold, a bisexual main 0character

My thoughts bit: This was a fun foray into the mythical world of Shakespeare’s “Midsummer Nights Dream” and the world of fae and mythical creatures. When Oberon’s wife decides to leave him he takes a vacation in the human world. The problem is that it’s not what he remembers.  The property he thought he owned is now owned by Nick Chandler. Nick is still recovering from a failed relationship and has a fair bit of emotional baggage.

But, in this short novella, the two men get together quickly. Fortunately, fairies are compatible with humans!

Nick is entranced by Oberon’s fae nature and his ability to use his magical powers. There’s a fair bit of character development despite the short word count of this work. I liked Nick a lot and the banter with his assistant/friend was great.

This is an entertaining read. Would be the perfect length for a commute!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: end of a marriage, some violence, a character is drugged and held captive.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel

I received an ARC of The Midspring Rebellion by Doreen Heron from Ninestar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.