bdsm · MM romance

REVIEW: 33 Degrees of Separation by Rain Carrington

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited

Legacy Series

Book #1 – Remember The Alamo – Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link

Book #2 – The Principle – Amazon US Amazon UK | Universal Link

The Official Description: I’m Ian, and this is my story. Like the others, I have a legacy. I was raised with the best of everything, one of the riches kids I knew. That isn’t the legacy, however. That is to be a part of something I didn’t want, and never asked for it’s tearing me apart, but I can fight it. With some help, I can fight it.

Meeting Pat Castaldo, the hot, muscled FBI agent was the beginning of a life I thought was ending. I am terrified I’ll get him killed, and others, if I can’t stand up to my father and the other men that make up the terrible secret society. My family has been members for hundreds of years, and it was supposed to be passed to me. I don’t want it, but I took it, and I took it to end them once and for all.

In the middle of all this, I am falling in love. That was a surprise, and one that possibly terrifies me more than the Gilded Grail. This could hurt, and I could get this beautiful man killed, along with a lot of others if I fail. My money may be able to solve some of my troubles, but there is much more that it can’t.

I’ve never had to be brave or fight for anything. This is my fight, though, and I will win. I’ll win it for my friends, for humanity and, maybe most of all, I’ll win it for Pat.

***

Raised in wealth most could only dream of, Ian Andrews III didn’t know another way of life existed until he went to college and learned about the world. There he met friends and came down from his palace to try to be like everyone else, but he had too much money to achieve that.

When he was set to finish graduate school, his father took him on a trip to learn the destiny that had been chosen for him. He would become a member of the Gilded Grail, a secret society that had members whose families had been a part of it for hundreds of years.

He was a legacy, and there was no choice for him. He would become a member, or he’d die.

Learning about this secret society, hearing their ways and goals, then going through the initiation, he was terrified and ran off to hide away from them and everyone.

His best friend worried when he’d been gone for days, his phone left in his room, not a word from him. Calling in help, it came in the form of an FBI agent in town on business. He was doing a favor, checking up on the missing college student, and right away smelled trouble. When he saw Ian’s computer history and the name Gilded Grail, he knew he had to find Ian.

Once he did, he learned the secrets that no one outside the order knew. Together, they decided to try to stop them from a horrible goal they’d set, one that threatened every man, woman and child in the world.

Falling in love with one another was easy but keeping that attraction at bay to try to save everyone a horrible fate, Ian and Pat struggled. Pat called for more help, and Javier Duran came, an old lover of Pat’s, and one of the world best mercenaries.

Sparks fly and jealousies ignite. Saving the world and falling in love at the same time wasn’t easy on any man. It could tear them apart or make them more determined to have the other in their lives forever. That was considering if they could stop the Grail and there was a forever…

Just the facts:  M/M relationship, BDSM, speculative mystery

A fast moving tale of conspiracry and family and the choices we make in life. – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit: This book has a lot of things going on in it! First of all, Ian… the main character has grown up rich and when he discovers that he’s about to be inducted into a powerful secret society, he panics and bolts. His disappearance worries his friend and this is the point at which Pat becomes involved. Pat is a federal officer… and he’s immediately worried about Ian’s disappearance. He works through the details with Ian’s best friend and roommate and they discover Ian at an old cabin.

Here is where things begin to get a little wild! Ian’s father is very high up in a secret organization that seems to control a lot of what happens in the world. Ian is panicking when he meets Pat… but he feels enough of a connection with the man that they begin to work together to try and infiltrate the Gilded Grail. Carrington goes into great detail about the Guild and the way it’s run… there are a lot of secrets and layers to unravel in the story!

If you like a book that has insta-love and attraction then this story will work for you. Pretty much from the moment the two main characters meet, they are attracted to one another. What’s clear early on is that both of them are interested in an exchange of power during sex. I hesitate to call it BDSM, although that’s how the author refers to it. I felt as though the relationship bordered on abusive at times… although I think I got what the author was aiming for. So, if you’re in it for a safe/sane/consensual BDSM story…then this may not be the book for you.

There’s a lot of love between Ian and Pat and it only grows as they begin to try and come up with a plan to take down the Guild. The problem is that the guild is very powerful and has all the bases covered in terms of technology. They’re next to impossible to take down. In order for them to make any headway, Ian has to delve deeper into the world of the Guild.

There is some well-crafted character development in the story, although I would have enjoyed less conversing … I felt as though the author was trying to reveal most of what was going on in the character’s minds through dialogue rather than action. Personal preference. I really liked one of the supporting characters named Javi… he was a treat. I loved how original he was… and he was hilarious!

Sometimes, I found the sex scenes to be over-the-top, but I’m sure some people will enjoy them! Each to their own!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) mentions suicide, describes a suicide, violence, BDSM that borders on abusive, violence, family discord, secret society, homophobia, illegal activities, distrust in a relationship.

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

About Rain

I love writing, it’s been my dream for many years, and in October of 2013, when my first book went live on Amazon, that dream came true.

Writing love stories that are centered on flawed but lovable characters is my passion. Finding love between people isn’t easy, nor should it be. Even in a book, there have to be obstacles for the story to feel real.

I am a mother of three amazing people and three adorable fur babies. I live in Colorado, but love many other places besides my home. One state in particular is New Mexico, the state where I was born has always held a place in my heart.

People and places make my stories what they are. Each character I’ve written is a part of me in some way. Each place I write is as well. Adventures come in many ways, and each of my stories has taken me on an adventure that I treasure.

Come with me on my adventures and fall in love with my characters, as I have. I promise you will love the ride.

https://www.raincarrington.com

https://twitter.com/RainCarrington

https://www.bookbub.com/profile/rain-carrington

https://www.facebook.com/rain.carrington

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions

I received an ARC of 33 Degrees of Separation by Rain Carrington via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.