MM romance

REVIEW: Running From My Heart by Felice Stevens

The Official Description: People say six years is long enough to mourn the death of his husband but for Ross Miller, the pain is as fresh as if it happened yesterday. He’s left his glittering Hollywood life behind, yet guilt still dogs his steps, no matter how far he runs. Trapped by his past and needing to escape his well-meaning friends, he rents a cabin in the secluded Adirondack mountains. A reclusive man moves in next door and piques Ross’s interest, but his persistent attempts at friendship are rebuffed. That doesn’t stop him because the one rule Ross Miller has always lived by is to never take no for an answer.

Novelist Arden Wainwright has given up. He can’t pretend a happiness he knows he’ll never find again. Solitary days turn into years, and he remains frozen, unable to take a breath. At his wit’s end, he retreats to the mountains, but it does little to stir his creativity. He continues to hide from life and avoids his overly nosy neighbor, who insists on planting himself at Arden’s doorstep at every turn. Making friends is the last thing Arden wants, but annoying or not, he can’t get the damn man out of his mind.

Finding peace in their isolated surroundings, the two lonely men forge an unlikely friendship where they realize they’re more alike than different and better together than apart. With Ross’s help, Arden begins to rebuild the shattered pieces of his life, while Arden gives Ross the strength to face his fears and find his way home. When love comes calling you can choose to hide from hurt, loss, and pain, but if you take a chance and open the door, you might discover that running from your heart is the last thing you’ll want to do.

Just the facts:  M/M angsty romance, about moving on from lost love.

Two men struggling to deal with losing the love of their life, help each other to move forwards. – Kinzie Things

 

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited.

Length: 246 Pages

Cover Design: Reese Dante

Photographer: Wander Aguiar

Rock Bottom Series

Book #1 – Broken Silence –Amazon US | Amazon UK (currently only 99c/99p)

Book #2 – Imitation of Life – Amazon US | Amazon UK 

My thoughts bit: This book is about loss and grief as much as it is a romance. Ross is a retired director who lost his husband in a tragic accident the day they had a fight about their futures. Arden is a writer who hasn’t managed to write a word since his husband and son were killed in a car accident. Both men are still grieving years after their losses when they end up living in neighboring cabins in the country.

At first, when they meet, Arden isn’t interested in having a new friend. That seems to change quickly… and soon enough he is experiencing new and challenging feelings for Ross as he sorts through his own life.

This story is basically about two men who are in a similar position. They seem to be able to reach each other where their friends have failed, perhaps, because of their shared experience. The romance came up a little quick for me, but that’s just personal preference. I’m sure that people who like a lot of emotion and angst in their romance will enjoy this novel!

3 stars from me!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) description of past infidelity and dishonesty, many mentions of grieving and loss, death of a child, description of death by car accident, death of an animal.

I have always been a romantic at heart. I believe that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending around the corner, My characters have to work for it, however. Like life in NYC, nothing comes easy and that includes love, but getting there is oh so fun and oh so sexy.

I live in New York City with my husband and two children. My day begins with a lot of caffeine and ends with a glass (or two of red wine). I practice law but daydream of a time when I can sit by a beach somewhere and write beautiful stories of men falling in love. Although there are bound to be a few bumps along the way, a Happily Ever After is always guaranteed.

Newsletter

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

I received an ARC of Running From My Heart by Felice Stevens via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.