MM romance

REVIEW: Flash Rip by Keira Andrews

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow with Kindle Unlimited

Length: 290 pages

Cover Design: Wicked Smart Design

The Official Description: The most dangerous current is between them.

Training to be a lifeguard at an Australian beach is tough work, but Cody Grant loves a challenge. He spends long days in the sun and surf rescuing swimmers from treacherous rip currents while trying not to lust after senior lifeguard Liam Fox—who is deeply, painfully closeted.

Liam was supposed to be a football legend. Now in his mid-thirties, it’s been over a decade since his dream shattered along with his knee. Fans still recognize him regularly, and he’s terrified his sexuality will be discovered and his conservative parents will reject him. He has strict rules to protect his secret and keeps everyone at arm’s length. Liam never acts on his need to surrender after being shamed for it years ago by the first and only man he trusted.

Out and proud Cody fascinates Liam—and tempts him to break all the rules.

Cody is practically half Liam’s size and age, but has the confidence and compassion to take charge and give Liam the release, affection, and acceptance he desperately craves. But how long can a secret affair satisfy their hearts? As if saving lives isn’t hard enough, Cody faces his greatest challenge yet convincing Liam to trust him and find the courage to live out loud.

Flash Rip is an M/M gay romance from Keira Andrews featuring a slow burn, an age gap, scorching first times, and of course a happy ending

Just the facts:  M/M contemporary romance, lifeguards with an age and size gap.

A twist of life-saving lifeguard drama and the struggle to come out in the world of pro sports. – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit: Canadian Cody is a trainee lifeguard on a busy Australian beach when he meets Liam. Liam is a professional lifeguard and retired football star. When an injury sidelined him from his professional career, he became a lifeguard and hasnt’ looked back. Well, okay… he hasn’t looked back because he’s running from himself.fLiam has pretty much always been gay, but being a well-known public figure as a football player didn’t leave him much room to be out. His father is homophobic and Liam had spent his entire life believing that to be a man… he must behave a certain way

When Cody and Liam meet, Liam begins to realize that there’s more to being gay… or being a man… than simply your sexual orientation. Liam watches Cody as he comes out to the men they both work with. Liam watches as his friend accept Cody’s orientation without batting an eyelash. He watches Cody discuss his life freely… and he finds himself blown away that Cody can live so openly.

When the two characters finally get together, it’s overwhelming for Liam. He’s fighting everything he’s been taught to be with Cody. He’s hiding from his friends and family, he doesn’t want to be seen with Cody in public. He isn’t even sure how to ask for what he wants from Cody because of the way a culture of toxic masculinity has been branded on him.

There are some lovely scenes in this book between Cody and Liam. Cody is wise beyond his years and tries to get Liam to have fun with his sexuality. He wants Liam to understand that what happens between the two of them is no one else’s business and doesn’t reflect on how “masculine” they are… or aren’t.

In addition to the struggle between the two characters, Cody is learning a great deal about life and death as he trains on the beach. Andrews captures the adrenaline and guilt associated with a life-saving job.

The relationship between Cody and Liam was a bit difficult to read at times. Most of their discussions were about work, sex or coming out/homophobia. There were many times during the book when I felt as though I didn’t really know much about these two characters. I would have loved more character development to convince me that they might have something other than physical chemistry!

Good, solid story and a hot partnership between the main characters! 3 Stars from me!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) homophobia, bigotry, objectification of women and men on the beach, accidental outing of main character, descriptions of lifeguards resuscitating people who have drowned, description of a dead body.

Readalikes: Other similar reads you might like:

Links: Goodreads // The Author 

I received an ARC of Flash Rip by Keira Andrews published by KA Books via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

Author Bio

After writing for years yet never really finding the right inspiration, Keira discovered her voice in gay romance, which has become a passion. She writes contemporary, historical, fantasy, and paranormal fiction and — although she loves delicious angst along the way — Keira firmly believes in happy endings. For as Oscar Wilde once said:

“The good ended happily, and the bad unhappily. That is what fiction means.”

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Bookbub

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.