MM romance · sci-fi / fantasy

REVIEW: Wolf Lost by Sam Burns

The Official Description: An omega on the run.

An alpha fractured.

Sawyer Holt can’t go home. The Alpha who has replaced his father wants to use him as a tool to cement his political power, and Sawyer isn’t interested in marrying his father’s murderer.

Dez Sullivan’s leg may never heal from his last mission in Afghanistan, but he’s getting used to that. What he can’t adapt to are the nightmares and the tremor in his hand that the doctors insist is all in his head. Next to that, being a brand new werewolf seems easy, until Sawyer Holt blows into his life. The omega activates his burgeoning wolf instincts in a new way, and they threaten to overwhelm his common sense.

Both men are in Colorado searching for a new start, a new pack, and the safety they’ve lost. Their meeting is pure Kismet.

Just the facts:  M/M Supernatural Romance, Shifters, Character with disability

A M/M werewolf romance about finding a pack of choice and what that means.

My thoughts bit: This book was interesting and well-written. Sawyer is on the run at the start of this story. He’s fled his original pack because of a violent takeover that resulted in his father’s death. Mark, the dark and aggressive new Alpha wants to claim Sawyer and keep him “in line.” Sawyer may be an omega but he wasn’t raised to believe that made him “less than” every other werewolf. He runs without much hope of finding a place where he can finally be safe.

When Sawyer stumbled across Dez quite by accident he finds himself protected… and respected. In a unique deviation from most shifter stories, Dez is the member of a make-shift pack of three alphas. Gavin, Ash, and Dez were in service together in Afghanistan and they are fiercely devoted friends. The dynamics of this pack were great. Ash is the one with all the knowledge about living as a shifter and he’s doing his best to pass on what he knows to friends, Gavin and Dez. Sawyer has always been surrounded by shifters and is intrigued by the newness and freedom in the Kismet pack. The pack dynamics make for a great read. The friendship of the three alpha wolves was quirky and fierce and I loved it. I really enjoy when I read about a friendship and find myself thinking that I would love to know the characters.

The plot isn’t a very complex one. There are some moments of tension and a fair amount of amusing misunderstandings. All in all a good book.

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) mentions of past battle, PTSD, violence, aggression, kidnapping, confinement, supernatural bigotry, mentions death of parent.

Readalikes: Other stories that have a similar feel!

I received an ARC of Wolf Lost by Sam Burns via Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an unbiased review.

Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | Universal Link – Exclusive to Amazon and Available to Borrow With Kindle Unlimited

Length: 50,000 words approx.

Cover Design: Natasha Snow

Sam Burns wrote her first fantasy epic with her best friend when she was ten. Like almost any epic fiction written by a ten year old, it was awful. She likes to think she’s improved since then, if only because she has better handwriting now.

If she’s not writing, she’s almost certainly either reading or lost down a Wikipedia rabbit hole while pretending to research for a novel.

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.