MM romance

REVIEW: Death By C*ck (Fetish Alley, Book 2) by Susan Mac Nicol

The Official Description: Somehow, after solving one particularly squirrelly case, Clay Mortimer and Tate Williams of M&W Investigations have been deemed experts in all things Fetish Alley. Tate’s taken an undercover assignment for the London police, and solves it with his usual flair. When a brutal and particularly sensitive murder send the shop owners and patrons of Fetish Alley up in arms, once again the police department calls upon Tate and Clay to take the lead in solving the grisly crime. Meanwhile, their lives are being redefined in ways neither of them expected, and even though change can be scary, these brave men make certain that love guides them on every road they travel.

My thoughts bit: This return to Fetish Alley is just as much fun as the first book in the series. A friendship with alley club owner, Relio, and a solved fetish murder have lead M&W Investigations to be considered friends. When there’s another suspicious death in London’s Fetish Alley the two men are called in again. They are trusted and respected and that goes a long way in the Fetish community.

I love the quirky banter in the books and particularly, the relationship between Clay and Tate. Things haven’t always been smooth sailing for the couple, but they’ve found their way to a loving, supportive, hot partnership in business and life.

The details MacNicol puts into her characters is what makes them so interesting. Tate’s past still haunts him and I love that it’s still a presence in his life. I really enjoy the way that MacNicol discusses the emotions that catch the men off guard at times. And… little details like playing rock, paper, scissors to see who gets to drive the motorcycle make me love them even more.

The case isn’t too complex, it’s more a case of hunting down the evidence. But, as the clues unfold, it becomes clear that Clay and Tate’s relationship has been evolving. I still feel as though there is a lot I don’t know about Tate and Clay… I would definitely enjoy a flashback to their past.

These books are very enjoyable. The characterizations are wonderful, the plot advances at a great pace and the sex scenes are hot and don’t take over the plot! Loved it!

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: brief mentions past trauma, brief mentions PTSD, descriptions of fetish practices in the community. Description of a dead body. Description of a severe asthma attack.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel

I received an ARC of Death By C*ck by Susan Mac Nicol from Boroughs Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.