REVIEW: Broken Records – From the upcoming Spotlight Series by Lilah Suzanne

The descriptive bit: Nico Takahashi is a stylist based in Los Angeles when his business partner first shows him a magazine article about country-star, Grady Dawson. Busy and always-on-the-go, Nico doesn’t think twice about it (beyond hot attractive Grady is) until he finds himself with an opportunity to style Grady for a photoshoot. The chemistry between them is immediate. When the photoshoot goes well – and Nico can’t seem to get the country boy out of his mind – he agrees to go to Nashville for another business commitment. Things….heat up and Nico gets tangled up.

My thoughts bit:  Nico and Grady are immediately drawn to each other – which is done in a way that works! I find that sometimes fast connections between characters don’t work for me but that’s not the case here. These characters are well-written, the instant connection is physical and genuine and the personal connection is slower to blossom.

Of course, their lives become entangled. As steamy and overwhelming as Nico and Grady’s intimate life is – the public wants a lot of news about their private life. Nico struggles under the weight of rumors, gossip magazines and the online reminders of Grady’s past. This story is a little foray into the world of being an artist and having to deal with fans and paparazzi and the misinformed opinions that come about.

One of the things I really enjoyed about this story was the way that Suzanne wrote Grady. There’s enough characterization at first to be intrigued by him… then … just like Nico, the reader has to wait and see what will be revealed. How real is Grady? Is he as genuine as he seems? What’s happened in his past to make him the person he is? Of course, a lot of that is revealed as the story unrolls. You already know that I’m not going to spoil the details for you.

The romance between these two men is a roller coaster ride. They are passionate, sometimes angry, occasionally even hurtful but it’s hard not to care about them.

Now is a great time to get The Spotlight Series by Lilah Suzanne. On July 16, 2019, you can get the box set of 3 ebooks for only $8.99 US. Interlude Press let me read Broken Records which is the first book in the trilogy and I loved it.

The warnings bit: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: brief mentions of shaming people’s sexual choices (ie in media), mentions of substance abuse.

Pre-order the Ebook Box set here:   Interlude Press 

I received an ARC of Broken Records by Lilah Suzanne from Interlude Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.