bdsm · Contemporary · MM romance

REVIEW: Tricks and Bids by Jacqueline Grey

The Official Description: When Michael Nole propositions Dillon Spade outside a BDSM club one evening, all he is looking for is a potential client and a little kink. He gets much more than he bargained for. As a prostitute, Michael enjoys sex but keeps an emotional distance between himself and the men he sleeps with. His priority is to keep himself safe, but after a night in Dillon’s bed, he finds the line between enjoyment and occupation blurring.

Dillon hasn’t taken another man home since his previous lover passed away six years ago, but there is something about Michael that calls to his inner Dominant in a way he cannot resist. His instincts want to claim the boy even as he reminds himself that he is only paying Michael for temporary company.

Their relationship may have started as a business transaction, but it’s difficult to remain professional when breaking all the rules.

Just the facts: M/M BDSM, from paid to a loving partnership, novella-length

A quick dip into an old trope… character driven novella with surprising depth. – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit: Jacqueline Grey is another new author for me. This Suit of Harte’s Series looks as though it’s being republished from 2014. The covers are updated to be much more modern looking – and quite delicious! The stories stand the test of time; I’m not sure if the author has done any editing.

In this particular novella, Dillan Spade is leaving a BDSM club one night when he’s propositioned by Michael Noel. NOrmally, Dillan wouldn’t pay to scene with someone but there’s something about Michael that entices him too. In spite of the fact that Michael isn’t a full-time sub, the two men connect well. It’s not long before their feelings are getting involved…and things need to change from a business arrangement to something else if they’re going to protect themselves. Or maybe… they need to break things off.

What I really enjoyed about this novella was that there’s a great deal of depth to the characters in spite of the brevity! Grey has done a wonderful job of sneaking in lots of past, feelings, thoughts, without over-writing for the length of the work. That’s a great skill and makes me look forward to reading a longer work from this author.

The BDSM is well thought out. I was pleased to see the contracting and negotiations. You all know that nothing drives me bonkers more than BDSM that doesn’t read as authentic. This does, and I’m thankful for that.

Definitely a series I would keep reading!

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) Vivid descriptions of BDSM scening, discussion of the death of a past partner, death by drunk driver, wax play, sexually explicit content.

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I received an ARC of Tricks and Bids by Jacqueline Grey from NineStar Press via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.

ratings legend

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.