lgbtqia content · my faves · Paranormal

REVIEW: Heartsong by T.J. Klune is stunning!

The Official Description: All Robbie Fontaine ever wanted was a place to belong. After the death of his mother, he bounces around from pack to pack, forming temporary bonds to keep from turning feral. It’s enough—until he receives a summons from the wolf stronghold in Caswell, Maine.

Life as the trusted second to Michelle Hughes—the Alpha of all—and the cherished friend of a gentle old witch teaches Robbie what it means to be pack, to have a home.

But when a mission from Michelle sends Robbie into the field, he finds himself questioning where he belongs and everything he’s been told. Whispers of traitorous wolves and wild magic abound—but who are the traitors and who the betrayed?

More than anything, Robbie hungers for answers, because one of those alleged traitors is Kelly Bennett—the wolf who may be his mate.

The truth has a way of coming out. And when it does, everything will shatter.

Just the facts: Werewolves, Queer characters, emotional, stunning

The newest in the Green Creek Wolves series… emotional, stunning and PACKed with action. (see what I did there?) – Kinzie Things

My thoughts bit:  You will never persuade me that there is a better series of books about werewolves. Heartsong is the most recent installment of Klune’s Green Creek Series. If you don’t want to read spoilers then don’t proceed!!! Go and buy the first book and read your heart out.

Spoilers Below This Point

The first book, Wolfsong, introduced us to Green Creek and many of the wolves and humans that inhabit it. This was Ox and Joe’s story really. Book 2, Ravensong, was the story of Gordo Livingstone who is the Green Creek pack’s witch. Book 3 is the story of Robbie Fontaine.

It’s masterful the way Klune opens this novel… the reader is as set adrift as Robbie is. Robbie is living a different life at the beginning of Heartsong,,, even though there is still something in him… somewhere … that seems off… or wanting. You know? The thing about T.J. Klune’s books is that they’re so good that I even struggle to come up with the right words to describe them.

This series… this book is brilliant. I feel as though I know these pack members as if they were in my own life. TJ crafts each character divinely, leaving room for them to grow and change… and always surprise the reader. It’s rare to be taken on such an emotional roller coaster ride… because I genuinely care for all of the characters.

There is heartbreak, mourning, loss, happiness, absolute joy, hilarity, and love that we should all be lucky enough to experience.

There are characters of many sexual orientations, in many types of partnerships, there are interspecies interactions, there are epic battles, there is loss so profound it’s difficult to even process.

Books like the Green Creek series are part of the reason that I read.

If you read one series this year… catch up on the Green Creek pack because the final books int he series is out next year.

Things You May Want To Know: Please be aware, I’m by no means an expert on what may or may not have the potential to disturb people. I simply list things that I think a reader might want to be aware of. In this book: (SPOILERS) Vivid descriptions of violent encounters, depictions of fierce animal attacks causing death, violence and gore, death of supporting characters, magical abuse of children, persecution of certain werewolves, intensely emotional and sad scenes, magical removal of memory (involuntary).

Readalikes: Other stories that are similar or give the same feel.

Links: Goodreads // The Author // The Publisher

I BOUGHT THIS BOOK BECAUSE I NEVER DOUBTED FOR A MOMENT THAT I WOULD LOVE IT. . . EVEN IF IT BROKE MY HEART.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.